Leaders in District VI held its inaugural Northeast Minnesota Ag Summit at the Northern Lights Casino Event Center in Walker on January 18.

More than fifty farmers and ranchers throughout the area gathered to hear from area experts including John Hart of USDA-APHIS-Wildlife Services, Dan Stark of the Minnesota DNR, and Dr. Eric Mousel with the University of Minnesota Extension.

MFBF leaders Miles Kuschel (Board of Directors District VI), Dustin Wiese (YF&R State Committee) and Shantel Koering (P&E State Committee) and Director of Public Policy Pierce Bennett also provided updates.

County Farm Bureaus were also recognized for outstanding programs and membership growth during the event. The counties of Wadena, Crow Wing, Beltrami, Headwaters, and Cass received Premier County Awards. Additionally, Koochiching, Cass, Lake of the Woods, Beltrami, Headwaters, Wadena, and Crow Wing counties earned recognition in membership growth.