Sixteen regional FFA finalists from across the state have advanced to compete in the Minnesota Farm Bureau (MFBF) State FFA Discussion Meet, held during the Minnesota State FFA Convention, April 24-26. 

The contest will take place on Sunday, April 24 starting at 2 p.m. in the Magrath Library on the University of Minnesota’s St. Paul campus. The contest is sponsored by the MFBF Young Farmers and Ranchers (YF&R) Committee and the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation. 

Two finalists were selected from each of the eight MN FFA regions at preliminary contests held between December through March. Participants in this year’s competition include:

Region 1
McKayla Hove, Fosston FFA
Caidyn Johnson, Fertile-Beltrami FFA

Region 2 
Allison Offerdahl, Park Rapids FFA
Brooke Converse, Staples-Motley FFA

Region 3
Livy Johnson and Quynn Behrens, Ashby FFA

Region 4
Alison Bergmann, Stillwater FFA
Alison Murrell, Braham FFA

Region 5
Natalie Beckendorf, Renville County West FFA
Dayna Terning, Dassel-Cokato FFA

Region 6 
Joe Dagel, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton FFA
Jacob Runge, Saint James Area FFA

Region 7
Kiya Williamson, Belle Plaine FFA
Kierra Meyer, Tri-City United FFA

Region 8
Kiya Avery, Triton FFA
Katie Thome, Southland FFA

The Discussion Meet competition encourages participants to have a conversation about current agriculture topics. The discussion simulates a committee meeting with the goal of finding a solution. Each FFA region in Minnesota can send two participants to the state contest, where the top two winners will receive a scholarship to the FFA Washington Leadership Conference or to further their education.