Lafe Aarsvold of Southwest Minnesota State University won the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) Young Farmers and Ranchers (YF&R) Committee Collegiate Discussion Meet competition, held during the annual Leadership, Education, Advocacy and Promotion Conference in Hinckley. 

Aarsvold moves on to represent Minnesota in the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) Collegiate Discussion Meet competition at the upcoming FUSION Conference, March 3-6 in Jacksonville.

Runner-up was Aina Perez of the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. 

Also competing in the final round of the Collegiate Discussion Meet at the conference were: Blaine Anderson (Riverland Community College), Wayde Pederson (Riverland Community College), Julia Quast (Ridgewater College), Jacob Runge (Ridgewater College), Regan Schatz (South Central College), Kyle Thomas (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities) Sydney Walters (Southwest Minnesota State University) and Megan Weber (South Central College).

Contestants in the Discussion Meet are judged on their basic knowledge of critical farm issues and their ability to exchange ideas and information in a setting aimed at cooperative problem solving.